Agent 45 | Welcome To Atlanta

10月 14, 2014

Welcome to Atlanta, a mix by Agent 45, is the second in a new series of DJ mixes curated by Tucker & Bloom. Focusing on regional music, each mix will feature a DJ and record collector who specializes in the musical history of their town.


Since 1999, Agent 45 (Brian Poust) has been researching and documenting the rich history of Funk and Soul from the state of Georgia. While its capital city of Atlanta entered the greater consciousness of the world through its burgeoning Hip Hop scene of the late 1980s and beyond, this was built on a solid foundation of R&B music going back to the earliest days of the Top Hat ( renamed The Royal Peacock), Builders Club and Waluhaje Night Clubs of the 1940s. While much of this music has since become widely known to DJs and collectors, Agent 45 has chosen to spotlight the often overlooked sounds of Atlanta Funk and Boogie artists of the 1970s and 80s, just before the capital of the "Dirty South" earned it's Hip Hop stripes. We begin with the sounds of one of Atlanta's most influential R&B stations of the 1980s, WIGO-AM, before jumping off into an hour of sounds from influential studios run by Calvin Arnold and Haywood Tucker, arrangements by legends such as Tommy Stewart. You'll also find a host of Atlanta artists who put out independent records on obscure, fly by night labels that couldn't last beyond their first release yet hiding their own unique treasure waiting to be discovered decades later. 

  • Tommy Stewart - Atlanta Get Down (Abraxas)
  • The Chapparrals - Jam Around the World (Maximillion)
  • Atlanta System - Falcon Fever (King Ro Productions)
  • The Now Gang - Wanna Make You Dance (EGM)
  • Anthony Lockett - Decisions (McTrax, V103)
  • Vickie McKisic - Burnin Hot (HoMark)
  • Maggabrain - New Wavin' (Now)
  • King Juan - We Just Want To Dance (Castle City)
  • Elans - Private Love Affair (Budweiser Showdown, WIGO)
  • Joan Ashe - My Life (Gold Mine)
  • Gripp Band - We Got Something Funky For You (Midtown)
  • Punchy & Early Warning System - Whole Lotta Jammin' (EWS)
  • Roubaix - Ain't Nobody Better (Libracorn)
  • Symbol 8 - I Thought You Wanted To Dance (Midtown)
  • Cosmic Force - Humanoids Get Up (E.F. Records)
  • Andrea Hammond & J.T.'s Connection - Let the Music Turn You On (Golden Magic)
  • Khayree Ramadan and Horace Henry - Atlanta (Big City Records)

Listen below and get a free download here


Also in News

Son of the City: A Memoir by Dante Ross
Son of the City: A Memoir by Dante Ross

3月 02, 2023

The new book Son of the City: A Memoir by Dante Ross, is the first release by the new author. Preorder is in limited supply and available now

View full article →

Victrola Revolution Go Turnable - Review
Victrola Revolution Go Turnable - Review

2月 10, 2023

When Victrola introduced the Revolution Go turntable to me and asked if we would be interested in trying one out, I was game, but these days I spend more time at my desk than hunting for records in dusty basements. 

Was the Revolution Go good for being stuck at your desk?

View full article →

Thes One - Farewell, My Friend
Thes One - Farewell, My Friend

12月 16, 2022

Music like this is a powerful drug (Musical Dope). If "Farewell, My Friend" doesn't bring a tear to your eyes you should smoke a bidi, start at the beginning, and play it again. - Case

View full article →